What does CES assess?

CES assesses:

  • Degrees and diplomas completed at post-secondary institutions (universities and colleges) outside of Canada
  • Secondary-level qualifications (high school) completed outside of Canada
  • Secondary-level diplomas issued by the Ministry of Education for provinces outside of Ontario
  • CES may be able to assess in-progress academic programs for general use applications only.

 CES does not assess:

  • Professional licenses and certifications (including those earned in conjunction with academic studies):
    • e.g. Certificat de Absolvire (Graduation Certificate) from the Teacher Training Department or Pedagogical Seminar
  • Academic bridging or preparatory programs
  • French RNCP (RĂ©pertoire national des certifications professionnelles) titles
  • Memberships in professional bodies/associations and learned societies, including but not limited to:
    • Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) - examinations or fellow or Member of the Association
    • Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
    • Institution of Engineers
    • Institute of Mechanical Engineers
    • Royal College of Surgeons
    • Institute of Chartered Accountants of Pakistan (ICAP)
    • British Computer Society
  • Competency based qualifications, vocational qualifications, and training programs, including but not limited to:
    • City and Guilds Certificates
    • Trade certificates
    • National Vocational Qualifications
    • Massage or Shiatsu Therapy Training
    • Caregiver training
    • Personal Support Worker Training
    • Montessori Training
    • Microsoft Training
    • Second-language training programs (i.e. ESL)
  • Apprenticeships
  • Work experience
  • Individual courses
  • Canadian post-secondary qualifications
  • Short-term, informal, non-academic programs
    • Programs offered by a training company to upgrade work-place skills (e.g. NIIT)
Was this article helpful?